2018 Bush Carnival results

(31 years on and still as popular as ever) 

Saturday 21st to Saturday 28th April 

 Twenty-six teams, representing 21 clubs, descended on Beaudesert to contest the 31st annual Bush Carnival Classic Fours. 

The $4,800 men’s two-day, five-game, fours (sponsored by Gelita and Armac) commenced on Saturday 21st April.  After quite a few showers the night before (and a sleepless night for me) the skies cleared to provide ideal conditions for bowling. 

At the end of the first day three games had been contested but only four teams were undefeated. 

Graeme French                   6  +  7                    (Southport)

Rob Cresswell                     6  +  19                  (Helensvale)

Mikal Prosser                     6  +  23                  (Canungra)

Chris Ryan                         6  +  29                  (Greenslopes) 

One player in Rob Cresswell’s team (Paul Staggard) last year managed to win the men’s fours, men’s pairs and mixed pairs – a clean sweep.  But not this year!  Staggard’s team managed a 14-all draw in Game Four against Travis O’Reilly’s (Capalaba) team comprising Brad Coulson, Sean Davis and Kev McGee.  Cresswell’s team finished third overall after winning their fifth game by six shots. 

Another draw in the fifth game against the Canungra team of Shane Stephensen relegated Chris Ryan’s team (of Cecil Ceccin, Dave Pearson and David Stuart) into second place overall behind the other Canungra team of Mikal Prosser, Brian Harrison, Simon Wallace and John Harrison. 

Kent Taylor’s Beaudesert team (of Greg Jepperson, Geoff Gillow and Doug Ward) had a slight hiccup in the third game which cost them dearly.  Losing by three shots to Jeff Lanham’s team (of Robbie Allan, Mar Watai and Paul Ryan) they finished with a wet sail, beating Peter Tonkies’ team by 15 shots and winning the last game by 10 shots – defeating Mal Guihot’s team (Paradise Point) team. 

Overall Results

                                1st           Mikal Prosser (Canungra)             10  +  37                $1400

                                2nd          Chris Ryan (Greenslopes)               9  +  46                $1200

                                3rd           Rob Cresswell (Helensvale)            9  +  25                $1000

                                4th           Kent Taylor (Beaudesert)               8  +  51                $800

                                4th round winner Troy Howard (Darra)            +  21                $200

                                Lucky Loser                                                                                    $200 

We can expect to see Mikal Prosser’s team shouting a few at the club, for Shane Stephensen’s team, for tying with Chris Ryan which enabled Mikal to be the only team with five wins – and overall winner. 


After a day’s break 28 teams turned up on a beautiful sunny day (Tuesday April 24th) to contest the $1250 men’s pairs – sponsored by Dover and Sons, Scenic Ford and Brown Family Funerals.  Three games of 15 ends for the day.  After two games we had six teams with two wins a piece. 

Leading the way (ex-Beaudesert player now at Elliot Heads) Greg Jeppersen playing with a relatively new Beaudesert Bowler, Paul Waters, were 4 + 21.  Followed closely by two Beaudesert teams of Winston Holder/Mars Green and Kent Taylor/Doug Ward both on 4 + 19.  Next were Noel Ridgwell/Ron Wardel (Southport) 4 + 15; Rob Cresswell/Ron Lewis (Helensvale) 4 + 14 and Greg/Peter Bain (Tamborine 4 + 12). 

Of these six teams only two finished the day undefeated – taking out first and second places. 

First: Kent Taylor/Doug Ward (Beaudesert 6 + 22 received $500.  They only just made it with a two-shot win in game three against Ridgwell/Lewis (Helensvale). 

Second: Father and son combination of Greg and Peter Bain (Tamborine) 6 + 18 received $350 by defeating Doug Tate/Milo Milan (Darra-Cementco) by six in the final game. 

Third: Kevin Higson and Anthony Neven (Darra-Cementco) 4 + 22 received $250 slipping up by a mere three-shot loss in the second game to Jeppersen/Waters. 

Fourth: The perpetual money winners in Beaudesert Paul Staggard (Snr) (Musgrave Hill) and Paul Staggard (Jnr) (Helensvale) 4 + 20 received $200. 

Lucky Loser: G. Martin/Graeme French received $100. 


The Beaudesert ladies entertained 22 teams for a two-game triples day on Thursday 26th before we reached the final day of competition – the Lindsay Teese family sponsored family mixed $1250 pairs on Saturday 28th April.  The same format as the men’s pairs with three games to be played. 

Twenty-six teams competed and after the second game there were only six teams with two wins and, amazingly, six teams had a draw in the second game.  However, only three remained undefeated at the end of the day. 

The winning team of Brian and Sharon Botterell (Burleigh) got away to a relatively slow start, only winning by six shots in the first game.  They then turned up the heat on Colin and Karen Pollock (Redland) winning by 19 shots, then finished off the day defeating one local team (of Gary and Pauline Wessling) by a further 13 shots, to finish the day 6 + 38 and the $500 first prize. 

Only three shots behind were a Beaudesert team of Gaye Blank and Richard Knight 3 + 33 receiving $350 with Shane Stephensen and Fiona Ryan (Canungra) 3 + 32 receiving $250. 

It was a perfect day of bowls to complete the Beaudesert Bush Carnival of 2018.  They came from near and far, 29 clubs were represented, they ate well, some played well, and I am pleased to say they kept their fluids up.  See you all again in 2019. 

John Harris

Carnival Organiser